skip to content

Hall Showground

16 March 2026

Surveying the old sheep pavilion at the Hall Showground
Surveying the old sheep pavilion at the Hall Showground

In preparation for the centenary of the Royal Canberra Show in 2027, volunteers from the Hall Heritage Centre hosted a group from the Royal National Capital Agricultural Society (RNCAS) for lunch at this week's National Sheep Dog Trials. President of the RNCAS, Toni Rolls was accompanied by Board Member Margaret Hunter, CEO Adelina La Vita and SEO Charne Saunders.

The group were greeted by some knowledgeable historians with excellent memories of the annual Canberra Show that was held at Hall until its move to the EPIC facility in 1964 - Hall Heritage Centre volunteers, Tony and Margaret Morris and Ralph Southwell took time off from their Trials duties to lead the visitors around and Kingsley Southwell was able to share some very interesting history about the grounds.

Many Canberrans don't realise that the show originated from early Ginninderra Farmers' Union events, starting with rural shows in 1908–1909 and formalising as the inaugural Canberra Show in 1927 at Hall.

An enjoyable lunch watching the trials, allowed the RNCAS guests to appreciate the continued community and heritage links with this unique event


< Back to Homepage